Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Upgrading your Silhouette Software on a new computer when you've used all 3 of your installs







Don't you feel like this guy when you try to upgrade your Silhouette Studio software and you get one of the above messages?  Frustrating, isn't it?  Here's are a few tips that will save you some angst when reinstalling your software on a new computer.

When you purchase a Designer Edition or other upgrade for your Studio software, you can install it on up to 3 computers.  So, say you had your software on 2 computers and you had to replace one -- you've used up all 3 of your installs.  You will get an error message when you try to upgrade on any additional new computer because you have no more installs left.

How do you know how many installs you have left?  Log into your account at www.silhouetteamerica.com and click on "My Account".  Scroll down, and you will find your serial numbers as well as how many installs you have left for each type of upgrade you have. (You will need your upgrade serial number when you reinstall, so write it down or leave the window open on your computer.)

So what happens when your "Remaining Installs" number is zero?  Before you donate, trash, or otherwise retire your old computer, open your Silhouette software one last time and click on "Help". Click on "De-activate License Key".  Your "remaining installs" will be reset and you can now use that license key when you install the upgrade on your new computer.

If you can't access your software on your old computer, just give Silhouette a call at 1-800-859-8243 or email them at support@silhouetteamerica.com , explain the situation, and they will reset your installs.  Sometimes they get very busy, so rather than sit on hold, I use the option to have them call me when an agent is available.  I've always gotten a call back within a few hours.

Happy cutting!
Lisa


3 comments:

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The phone listed is no longer a good number. It is a phone for telemarketing.

    ReplyDelete
  3. It would be a great feature in the "my account" since you are already signed in, to be able to reset the number of installs yourself. It is very frustrating to be dealing with this on the weekend and no way to do anything about it til Monday.

    ReplyDelete